The Sun’s whose Rays are all Ablaze with Ever-Living Glory…


Question: How do our personalities specifically effect the way we view God?

Answer: We might “Choose Something Like a Star.”

O Star (the fairest one in sight),
We grant your loftiness the right
To some obscurity of cloud —
It will not do to say of night,
Since dark is what brings out your light.
Some mystery becomes the proud.
But to be wholly taciturn
In your reserve is not allowed.
Say something to us we can learn
By heart and when alone repeat.
Say something! And it says “I burn.”
But say with what degree of heat.
Talk Fahrenheit, talk Centigrade.
Use language we can comprehend.
Tell us what elements you blend.
It gives us strangely little aid,
But does tell something in the end.
And steadfast as Keats’ Eremite,
Not even stooping from its sphere,
It asks a little of us here.
It asks of us a certain height,
So when at times the mob is swayed
To carry praise or blame too far,
We may choose something like a star
To stay our minds on and be staid.

Robert Frost decided to speak about the Transcendent and Divine as a star; so will I. Except the reality of our existence might be better described as us being the star(s). As each star illuminates it’s corner of the Cosmos, so do each of us emit the rapturous radiance of our God. Each star embodies it’s own unique celestial properties: size, age, color, placement in the universe. And interestingly enough, an individual star’s qualities are mostly distinguished as it stands in comparison to other stars. Likewise, the qualities of our ‘being’ are not brought out by how we stand apart, but how we are illuminated by the luminescence of other’s.

Suffice it say I am convinced, by the authority of scripture over human experience, the fullness of God is best measured in relationships; for God himself is a relational being. Each person of God never ceases to glorify and build up the other Persons (John 5:37, John 14:16 & 26, Matthew 3:17). And I will go even further to say that we are incapable of enjoying God fully outside the context of relationships (Ephesians 2:11-22 & Philippians 2:1-10). God is not solely concerned in the salvation and redemption of how each of us singularly worship and glorify Him. He is also concerned (and I am tempted to say He is mostly concerned) with how we seek to worship and glorify Him within regards to how all of us love, serve, and engage in fellowship with one another: “For the whole Law is fulfilled in ‘Love your neighbor as yourself'” (Galatians 5:14 & James 2:8). When we offend each other, we ultimately offend God.

Therefore, I am inclined to say that the way I view God is furthered, enhanced, and promoted in how my personality is brought out by my relationships with other people. As I sin against against God, which is almost always accomplished through sinning against other people, I am shown my need for a redeeming Saviour. And my needs of God are unique to the way I sin against Him, that is to say my needs are the perversions of my personality’s weaknesses. On the flip side, my graces of strength (which are a part of my personality and given to me by the Lord) are only revealed in how they serve and galvanize the joy of others.

Furthermore, we would do well to prioritize the statement “It is more joyful to give than to receive.” Not because it is solely a matter of duty; but because it is a matter of the nature of our personality and strengths revealed before the Lord and people: we magnify the Lord in our distinct personalities. Even God himself is revealed best in his ability to give and serve.  Jesus is the image of the invisible God and the Son of Man came to serve and not to be served (Col 1:15 & Matthew 20:28). “In these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world. He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power” (Hebrews 1:2-3).

So, I would say that my personality impacts the way I view God in as much as my strengths and weaknesses are revealed to me by relationships with people.

Leave a Reply

