Solid Gospel

For me, Romans 8:1 stands to be one of my favorite verses to cling to. I only have two choices when I read this verse: I can dismiss it as false and an outright lie, or I can embrace it at face value and a fact. I have no other options. Which is why I love this verse. It’s concrete; it’s solid; it’s a consummate declaration of truth between me and a Holy, Loving, & Personal God.

For those of us who are in Christ we have no fear of death or guilt of sin because his death and resurrection remove any claim to which Death and Guilt had over our lives. The fact that I am no longer condemned is true right now in this moment, and every moment. It is not a future promise that I hope for with patience. It is as present as the air that fills my lungs and gives me life. It is as immediate as the sight I use to look upon these words I have written. It’s more real than this chair I sit on. And it’s more sustaining than the food I eat and the sleep I get.

The removal of condemnation, because of Christ’s Blood, is so fierce that it absorbs my existence and presses forward prior to any action/attitude/thought I do or have. And the removal of condemnation is of such a kind that not only does God no longer look at me with disgust, but he delights in me because of Jesus. The worries and concerns of this world are reduced to minor irritations. Not even my own self-condemnation and self-loathing have any power over me. Christ’s death and resurrection is a shield about me stronger than any armored tank or walls I should put up around my heart. Best of all, Death can be laughed at.

Therefore, Who can bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died — more than that, who was raised from the dead, who is at the right hand of God, and who is now interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?

Leave a Reply

